Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

The Storm

Mark was out of town attending a conference, so when the tornado warning sirens went off, Poppy and I headed for the cellar. Before going down, I turned up the volume on the radio in the kitchen so I could hear it in the basement. Poppy hates the basement and won't go down any further than the first couple of steps. I think they are too steep for her and she can't figure out how to manage her back legs. Anyway, as I listened to the radio bulletins, they mentioned that a funnel cloud was sighted over Bloomington, about 2 miles north of our house. When they said it was moving northeast, I figured we'd be okay, but nevertheless, we stayed in the basement until the all clear message came through an hour later. Fortunately the funnel cloud never touched down and Bloomington was spared any damage. It was a nerve-wracking evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.