atoll

By atoll

Back On The Old Soap Box

Did my usual again and forgot to put the bin out for the bin men. Wouldn't mind but the difference between me putting it out by the roadside and them walking into my garden to get it, is about 7m. Lets not go there. Got there by 09:15 but missed them - suffice to say we will have to wait 2 weeks for the next one.

Best Exotic Marigold Hotel last night was interesting and quite enjoyable although we were sat in the same row as a very large group of Burka-clad young ladies who laughed and shrieked loudly at everything - including all the non-funny bits. After initial mild iritation, in the end I got to like it, as I was thinking there is often not enough audience reaction in the cinema, like say the theatre.

Film was OK but wasnt aware of John Madden the Director before, until I checked him up. Didn't know he did Captain Corelli's Mandolin, but have to say whoever cast Nicholas Cage as Captain Corelli, ruined the film completely. The role should have gone to Life is Beautiful actor Roberto Benigni - and thats all I want to say on that. Call me a old misery (my wife often does) but Marigold Hotel to my eyes was unconsciously racist though, in the same way that Top Gears India Special; and exotic TV series' like No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency churn out their comical national stereotypes for the amusement of armchair tourists.

Now to the actual point of this soap box rant: I thought we had run out of soap this morning, but managed to find a solitary box nessling at the back of a bottom drawer. For some reason I am totally addicted to only Pears soap. Not sure why, but I put it down to being allowed to flick through old copies of my Grandparents Pears Cyclopaedia in the 60's and looking at a photograph of this super-expensive soap I had never seen before. Have the same fond nostalgia for those hard liquorice sticks (with the stamped ends) bought from Mr Simm's Olde Sweet Shope in Kings street Knutsford - and which we took to the cinema last night.

Here endeth today's sermon. Sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.