Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Walk lobster?

This little foam promo lobster on a long lead wire is meant to be a promo toy for Nova Scotia tourism. It worked. We got it at an info booth in Toronto in 2008 and went to Nova Scotia and PEI in a driving holiday in 2009 (back-blipped from here).

It's been collecting dust around the house so I thought I'd take it to the office for our Global Café where we keep odds and sods of fun things. But first, I had to try a gag on Gord on the train this morning. He wasn't expecting me because I usually catch his train on the way home. I'm standing on the raised platform and waited for him to pop out of the train and put down the ramp for me to get aboard. He was surprised to see me then burst out laughing when he saw the tethered lobster at my feet. Given that we both love old Warner Brothers cartoons, and in my best Bugs Bunny patter, I said something like: "Whatssamatter, Mac? Ain't'cha seen a guide lobster before?" He lost it. I cracked up. The other passengers thought we were both completely bonkers (still/again).

The train blew in with a big gust this morning and nearly sucked the thing right from my hand. For a moment I thought of changing my opening line to, "Hey! What's the big idea of nearly blowing my crustacean offa da platform, yuh big ape?" I did relate that alternative later on in the ride. It was all downhill from there. Such is life on our train.

I like how the shadow from my office blinds give the effect of it being in a classic lobster trap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.