How I See It...

By VisibleImagery

'Anvil' Storms...

Finally, my first upload!

...And what better day to do it than today, with so many Cumulonimbus clouds and associated storms in the area. My favourite of all clouds.

There have been loads of storms over the last few days, but unfortunately I have not witnessed one clap of thunder or flash of lightning!

The 2 distinctive storms in this photo have somehow 'dodged' Exeter and are now continuing to move away; on the left heading West towards Weymouth, and on the right heading South out into the English Channel.
Clearly the closest storm to the West has developed an excellent Anvil shape at its top where the colder air has spread out against the bottom of the warmer upper Stratosphere.

Of all my years photographing many wonderful things, I am still yet to capture a 'single' lighting strike - here's to hoping some day soon...



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.