The Secret

Despite having lived here for 9 months, I haven't explored the area much. Tonight being a rare night of sunshine, off I went. I wandered down some public footpaths for a while, winding further and further away from home and into the wilderness. Then, suddenly, I stumbled across a small graveyard, the ancient family type, and could hear moaning in the distance. I ventured on, curiosity getting the better of my nerves. There was a large wall, about 8ft tall, and I could hear the noises, louder now, behind it. So I scaled the wall, all 10ft of it, and peered over the top. This strange structure was what I saw, alone amongst the trees. And the noises, now so clearly screams of agony, were louder than ever. I nervously raised my camera and fired off a few shots. Then, suddenly, a face appeared in the small window there. A white face, twisted in pain. And they called out to me. Fear coarsed through me and I jumped down from the wall, a clear 15ft drop. Stumbling, and gasping for breath, I ran towards home as fast as I could...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.