horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Smoke gets in your eyes...

Roadworks in the way
While we 'play'
On our bikes
Racing the cars
The buses
The trains
But not the motorbikes
They win

-------------------

Dammit, my three year unbeaten record in the Edinburgh Commuter Challenge is gone! (losing to a 'bent last year doesn't count :P)

I knew if the train from Newcraighall Park & Ride was on time that it'd win, but only by 5 minutes in the end over the 5.5 miles or so (I took the longer road route, another cyclist took the off-road paths). I did, however, get a remarkably good run in, not catching any red lights until a couple of miles from the end. And then free cake and coffee!

Yet another lovely morning for it, god knows how they always manage to order the good weather.

The good mood continues with the boss and his PA both off today, and meeting my girlfriend for lunch. Feels like it's already the weekend, and the dark Hanging On of yesterday, while not a distant memory, is at least forgotten for a short while.

Tomorrow we get to play at a sort of culinary James Bond - heading to a 'secret' location with Valvona & Crolla on a fungi foray. I wonder if I'll be allowed to take pictures...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.