Jay's Wildscapes

By jay

MySpace

In the group of trees to the right of this shot there was once a farmstead called Haddock Fold. The reservoir is not much over a century old. I have a real affinity with this place and wander by here most mornings on my dog walk.

My great grandparent
my great great grandparent
my great great great grandparent
my great great great great grandparent
my great great great great great grandparent

were all born in this farmstead. Beyond that it all gets a bit hazy.

Unfortunately it fell into disrepair at the end of the 1800's so my grandma had to be born in a cottage a hundred yards to the right and my mum was born 500 yards to the right, three cottages away from where I now live. And where I will stay all my living days.

Talk about feeling at home. Grounded!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.