Beautiful allergens

This sensitivity to blooming things is yet another thing that has set on in my later years. I used to empathize with people who suffered from hay fever and other allergies but I never really understood what it meant. The maple trees have exploded into bloom over the last week and I can feel it. It starts with a sudden, nasal itch, is followed by six or seven consecutive sneezes and then the nasal faucet is turned on. By the time both my ears and my throat are crawling and itching, tunnel vision and fatique sets in. Over the counter meds do not work, so I do the only thing I can think of: drink water and go outside, taking deep breaths, work in the yard and tell my nose to sink or swim.

I spent the morning inside with my pint sized friend who is just about walking without falling. He ate almost the entire squash I roasted and a good portion of the pureed edamame/squash mixture, a whole jar of sweet potato puree, and two little pieces of toasty bread (because he's teething) He can say 'hot' when he enters the kitchen and points at the stove, except it's more like 'ha'. No wonder he looked a tad confused when we played with a baseball cap and I called it a 'hat'. He said 'ha' but it had a question mark after it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.