Poppy Outcrop

I was around 900 feet in altitude taking shots of an area known as Coyote Valley - just south of San Jose, California. There are many rock outcrops along the ridge I was on. Most are Serpentine or Serpentinite, a green waxy rock usually associated with faulting. Serpentine is actually the organic form of asbestos and as it erodes into the soil, adds manganese, nickel, along with other harsh chemical components. These soil additives provide an environment for endemic plants, generally wildflowers. The endemics, or native plants have adapted to the chemical composition over time, but the invasive plants (mostly weeds), have not adapted and will grow more prolifically in less toxic environments. This gives the natives a chance to produce wonderful impressionism type floral outcrops around these rocks. After the rain we're having this area will soon be covered with native wildflowers. I'm going to try and get up there to do another shot after the flowers begin to bloom. The California Poppy is always the first to flourish.

I had plenty of shots of the valley from this vantage point, but I liked this shot of the Poppy outcrop. 731 - here we go again....

Thanks to everyone's thoughtful and greatly appreciated comments on my 730th blip birthday yesterday. You are all a very special group of folks and I'm glad I found you.

R

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.