The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

Did someone say 2013 was open? Where do I Register

It's been a rather exhausting week at work and I have to say this four day week seemed longer than a normal week, but hey, it's Friday again, so time for a wee Blip story.

This week I found myself far removed from The Kiltwalk as I was in London and Nottingham for a few days, where we've yet to conquer that part of the world (takes mental note for next Kiltwalk Board Meeting) and I thought you'd all miss me.

I hoped our Facebook page would be bereft of content, with you all sitting there thinking "where's he gone?" However nothing could be further from the truth as our FB page has literally "lit up" in a blaze of tartan of all colours, shapes and sizes. It's a wonderful site and if you give me a few days I promise to get through the back log of 213 posts that I need to respond to.

It's also been a week that's taken The Kiltwalk Team by surprise. It was meant to be the week where we start helping Jim Hart, who is organizing the Speyside walk. However due to you crazy, mental, aff yer heid, but loveable bunch, we had to change plans.

"What are you going on about Ian?" I hear you all ask

Well, while you were all partying on Sunday night, I was sitting at home feeling sorry for myself (it was actually more like feeling stupid for passing out) as for the second year in a row, I'd missed the party. So there I was 'moping' until around ten o'clock at which point people had stopped saying "how great the day had been" and were beginning to make plans for 'next year', aye you heard it 'next year'.

Not only were they making plans for themselves, they were away telling their pals what an experience The Kiltwalk was . . . "It's a sense of achievement, it's walking with 777 new pals, it's 26 miles of laughing, it's crossing that line at the end and seeing some of the kids from the charities waiting for you, it's just brilliant" . . . so OK I wasn't present in every household, pub, or car where the conversations were taking place, but I just know you were all saying that.

So Sunday night gave way to Monday morning and we knew for sure the Facebook and Twitter comments would change because people would be 'sair' and blisters would be needing burst and then they'd remember the rain!! But no, not a grumble was to be found. Even Douglas Noon was happy, we think, just because we hadn't put up so many "miles to go signs" :-)

It was amazing and beyond our wildest dreams and then Niki and Josie asked "when can we register for next year?" and that was that, as once they said it, everyone started asking.

So with FOUR events still to go, imagine the scene as I hobbled down stairs, picked up my phone and made the following call to Carey. Now Carey is a very enthusiastic guy at the best of times, however given the success of the previous day he was totally buzzing with excitement as he answered the phone.

"Ian, Ian it was amazing, it was brilliant, they didn't notice the rain, they all finished it, did you see Jon's million Crème Eggs, Speyside's gonae be brilliant too, ah just know it . . . and next year, well we'll have a thousand walking, a thousand, maybe more'.

"Eh Carey, it's about next year"

"Aye, we'll have a thousand eh?"

"Well maybe, but that's not what they're asking"

"Have you seen Facebook and Twitter this morning Carey"

"Eh no, I've been too busy thinking about ?.."

"Carey, they want it open"

"They want what open?"

"Next year, they want registrations open for next year"

"Next year, when? November? It's meant to be November"

"No, they want it open NOW, TODAY. They're all queued up on Facebook and Twitter and they're chapping the door. No forget 'chapping', they're knocking the door down to register for next year".

"Hello, Carey . . . Carey? Are you still there Carey"

And after a period of stunned silence Carey said "NEXT YEAR!! We've still got four to do this year . . . No way man, no way. I mean we just can't, can we?".

Suffice to say registrations for the 2013 Hampden to Loch Lomond Kiltwalk opened yesterday . . . Thursday 12th April, 2012 and unbelievably 7 of you crazy but loyal and loveable Kiltwalkers have already signed up and talking of people signed up then I don't think there will be anyone happier than today's Blipfoto centre of attention.

Ladies and Gentlemen, let me introduce you to Jess, who took part in Sunday's Wee Kiltwalk.

Before I saw this picture I had previously gone on record as saying the "Best Bunnet" of the day award went to Bobby Stirrat, however when I saw this, Bobby's bunnet instantly faded from memory.

Now I didn't know of Jess until I got in touch with Ann to ask her who this "wee dug" was and it was only when she replied, that I realised Ann was the "Ann McMillan" who was desperately trying to contact me via Facebook and Twitter last Sunday morning to ask "I'm doing the Wee Walk, can I bring my
dog".

Luckily I got back to Ann in time to say that would be fine, otherwise we'd have missed this great photo, and that would have been a crying shame.
Ann and her man, Andy, along with their two girls Erin and Hannah, live in Dumbarton and first heard, or perhaps I should say "saw" The Kiltwalk last year when they witnessed us all trudging through the town, in the sweltering heat and when they realised we weren't completely off our trolley, they decided to give it a go.

So when they heard The Kiltwalk advertised on Real Radio earlier this year, they quickly signed up with Andy taking part in the Hampden to Loch Lomond Kiltwalk and the girls, including Jess, registering for The Wee Walk.

The girls loved The Wee Walk and none more so that Jess, who was a bit too 'participative' when it came to the Easter Egg rolling at Balloch Castle.
Jess either has a very sweet tooth, or simply can't resist "chasing things" as when the kids started to roll their eggs, that's 'everybody's' kids, Jess decided to join in and managed to scoop a few to eat before Ann got hold of her, which was slightly upsetting for the kids, but hey, that will teach them to roll chocolate in front of a dog. I mean what's a dog to do?

As for Andy, well I think he just registered to show off as he finished 4th in the Hampden walk.

On a serious note they've managed to raise £400 so far, with a few pounds still to come in so a fantastic effort all round and hopefully we'll see you all back next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.