Views of my world

By rosamund

Harbour

Had the perfect end to a perfect blip-week.

I met up with Auntie Christine for a fun day out and she had selected locations which were perfect for blipping. We met up at the RSPB nature reserve at Vane Farm on Loch Leven and had a lovely time catching up, having coffee and cakes, walking on the reserve and blipping in the hides.

I'm not much of a twitcher so in layman's terms we saw geese with orange beaks, black headed gulls, regular ducks, fancy ducks with black beaks (I think Gadwalls), a lapwing, a nesting swan, an exuberant heron and an assortment of small garden birds featuring various tits and finches.

The weather was glorious and we also enjoyed watching the gliders from the gliding school soar through the air, they were good moving targets for practicing capturing birds in flight.

For lunch we headed over to Dysart, near Kircaldy to visit the Harbour Master's House which Christine had found online by researching 'things to do in Fife'. It was the perfect choice as it had a nice tearoom and was in a beautiful setting. While we were having lunch there were some heavy showers, including hailstones, so we took the time to sit awhile, and Christine gave me lessons in photography so that when we went out after the rain I could finally take my camera off auto to try and learn the manual settings.

Christine has always been a great teacher and has given me my first lessons in many scary things including swimming and driving. She has a great way of making you believe in yourself and giving you the information and help you need whilst letting you find your own feet, I guess that's why she's so good at her job. (It's also a skill possessed by her no1 son who is the only person on this earth who could get me kayaking, rock climbing and abseiling).

We had a lovely wander round the harbour taking photos and made a deal to blip blind tonight, I have no idea what she is posting and I can't wait to see what she does. This was my best shot of the harbour, but not my best of the day. My favourite one was a shot of a certain bashful auntie who made me promise not to blip her.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.