Light's Vision

This is Montefiore Hill, which has an excellent vantage point to look over Adelaide. I have driven past it so many times, but never had a chance to stop and admire the view. Tonight we did just that.

This fine statue of Colonel Light was moved from Victoria Square to North Adelaide in 1938. Colonel William Light designed Adelaide as a square mile of north- south, east-west streets including central parks and surrounded by 1700 acres of parklands. His design is recognised as one of the most practical and beautiful in the world and this is the spot from where you can see it.

Extracts from his diary in 1839 are quoted on a plaque attached to the statue, and highlight the difficulty Light faced in having this site chosen:

'The reasons that led me to fix Adelaide where it is I do not expect to be generally understood or calmly judged of at present. My enemies however, by disputing their validity in every particular, have done me the good service of fixing the whole of the responsibility upon me. I am perfectly willing to bear it, and I leave it to posterity and not to them, to decide whether I am entitled to praise or to blame.'

PS
I should really carry the tripod with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.