My Life in My Hands

By IanCam

The Dark Side

According to Jungian Psychology we all have a dark side, or shadow. It probably represents more animal instincts, which presumably are repressed during our early brainwashing years, and for that matter religious or philiosophical teachings. It could be the springboard of creativity, so watch out fellow photographers. I wonder if good artists make bad civilians.

This all came to mind after attempting to record an image of this church, which appeared as a sillhouette in the RAW file (taken into the sun). I assumed that when I opened up the shadows in Lightroom 2 they would be filled with unsightly speckled colours of noise, and that the image would be junk, but I think the experiment worked. Sow's ear or silk purse, I enjoyed reaching this surprising result.

(Nothing spooky in the shadows here, even on Fri 13th).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.