Appreciate

By Appreciate

Berwick upon Tweed Bridges

Well - I was yet again in Berwick today to Halfords because my cycle chain got totally twisted quite a long way from home. This time I combusted, squeezed out a tear, stomped home, removed the wheel, piled it into my boot and drove whilst calming down to Berwick. When the guy saw me, he knew....and was very gentle and kind.

I had to leave it. What made me feel better was that he said that the bike are not road tested before sale and that he would make sure that it was completely roadworthy.

I returned 3 hours later to find it still on the stand - no cogs, no chain...and a sorry wee face. Whether I damaged the chain (on my 3 miles total of cycling) or it was dodgy from the outset, we'll never know but it has now been replaced and seems to be ok (scared to say too much!!) I have to say that this guy was so pleasant and kind - and very apologetic. He was so thorough and did a lot of twiddling and checking. I wish he had set the bike up in the first place.

On the plus side, it was a braw day in Berwick so I went blipping under the bridges and along Spittal Promenade. It is a very picturesque place with so much history. Lovely to wander in sunshine and muse at swans and gulls.

Although I like a visit here, I hope I don't have to return for a while - the sentiments too of the young man from Halfords.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.