fs2012

By FrankS

Grand National

We were looking forward to a Skype chat with Emma (in Thailand) this morning, but unfortunately the computer in her hotel was playing up. We'll try again tomorrow morning (5:30pm her time).

Luckily she has email access on her tablet, so I was able to let her know we'd picked a horse for her in the National. It's a family tradition to place a bet for each of us on Grand National day; as usual the majority of our five (Tom had two) horses fell, though as a late addition, Seabass came in third, at one point I thought Katie Walsh was going to win.

I don't think I'll be able to retire on the winnings, hold on I'm already retired, but it's good to have one placed.

I have just heard the news that Synchronised and According to Pete died after the race. It makes me feel bad that we support a sport that can be so cruel to horses, and I will certainly reconsider betting on the race next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.