Rex

An old ornament, crudely patched together by an little girl who had fished it out of a cardboard box that was full of rubbish that was to be flung in the dustbin.

This is Rex, and I called him after my first dog, who came to our family when I was 3 or 4 years old. It may be one of my earliest memories. I remember coming in through the back door and seeing this little black puppy running around and all my little girl dreams came true. We were the greatest of pals, he let me ride on his back as he grew into a big bear of a dog. When I started school he used to wait at the gate for me coming home and we would play in the garden together. One day, I was sitting in the big wheelbarrow and my dad was pushing it and I was screaming, enjoying how he had started running and we were going faster and faster. Rex thought I was in trouble and he came running up and started growling at my dad. Rex, my protector. Then my brother came along, and with dad leaving home at 7am to get to work in Dundee, it became more difficult for my mum to take care of Rex in the way that a big dog should be looked after. The final straw came when he pulled her off her feet and dragged her along the pavement when he saw my dad approaching in the distance one day. So, Rex was sent away to a good home. And it broke my heart to lose my great friend.

I sometimes bring this up to my mum. Remember the day when you decided to get rid of Rex.

This ornament holds a special meaning for me because it reminds me of Rex. Mum if you are reading this down in Chandler's Ford - I forgive you!!!!!
(I did a long time ago).

ps. The Voice is just fab. Will.i.am is just the coolest guy ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.