Barrel sponge

Nice quiet day on the dive boat today - first dive was just me and Cyclops and the dive guide, then we were joined by some beginners for the second dive. Again beautiful scenery above and below water and nice long dives. On the second dive we came upon a school of sardines, and I can't even begin to describe how many there were. Honestly, it may be that there were more sardines in that school than the number of fish I have ever seen before put together. It was an immense wave of fish that just went on and on and on, and as they surged around us we were near the school then within it then above it and it just kept coming and coming for about 20 minutes. It was so strange to watch because the school had really defined edges and there was a very clear line between a school of a million fish, and then no fish. It was genuinely amazing. My photos of it were rubbish, I hope Cyclops posts one (EDIT: he did, here).

After the dive I had a waterskiing lesson, where I fell on my ass about six times then suddenly it all clicked and I did a really good run of properly standing up that only stopped because the boat was back to the shore. So that's another one ticked off the bucket list. Not sure I'm a natural really, but might have another go another time and I did have fun and get a nice warm sense of achievement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.