Courtship

Well this week I have learned something new and it has been a joy to watch.

I have always been of the belief that all robins with red breasts are male. However, earlier this week I blipped a little robin and commented on the behaviour of two red breasts.

It turns out that all robins have red breasts, male and female. It is the young ones that haven't developed the red colour.

All week we have watched this couple in our garden. The male finds food then feeds it to the waiting female. If he sees us moving he warns her that there may be danger and she flies away to the safety of the trees. It all happens so quickly.

I have tried all week to get a shot of this tender moment. It hasn't been easy as I have to stay in the house as they just disappear when we go into the garden.

This has been cropped as much as I dare but there is still the blurred edges of a shrub. The detail is not great either but it had to be my blip today as it will remind me of what I have learned this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.