Delightful

By Serap

Where it all began

We came to the beach today to pick some pebbles for a border in the garden. This is the same part of the beach that Mark brought me to on our first date, which was 4 years ago (I can't remember the exact date but it was mid-April). I had come to Cyprus to visit a friend, and she had to work one evening so asked Mark to look after me and take me out for dinner. I wasn't really keen... going out with some strange man I'd never met, but on a whim decided to go anyway. He picked me up at the bar on Aphrodite Hills (where my friend worked), he was bright red with a mixture of sunburn and hangover, and the first place he brought me was right here... to pick some pebbles for his garden at the time. I remember being nervous - I had wedge heels on that were impossible to walk on the pebbles with, I had a skirt on that was blowing up in the strong breeze, and I also had a horrible idea that he might kill me with a blow to the head with a huge pebble. I made sure I kept my eye on him the whole time, whilst also picking pebbles, balancing on my heels and holding my skirt between my knees. Then we went and had some chilli con carne and the rest as they say is history!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.