Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Just some pens and pencils

in an elastic band on the garden table in the sun.

We've all done it, right?

I was trying to think of a shot that represents collaborative writing and this is one of the few ideas I came up with.

Today I got the shortlist sorted out for our flash-fiction anthology and got some great help from an editor so I feel we're getting somewhere

I don't mind admitting that I've been feeling rough again recently*. The next few weeks are going to be quite heavy going and I'm trying to do as much as possible to keep the anxiety at bay but occasionally it takes over and gives me headaches, trembles, brain fog and a whole host of other niggles. It can also make me very quiet and withdrawn. Chronic anxiety can be quite debilitating and is hard to explain to people who don't have it or think it's the same as stress. It's difficult to be someone who knows their mind and feels quite strong inside about their opinions and about their intentions and then not be able to carry them out. It's frustrating because I love life and can't always grasp a good enough chunk of it.

(*Actually. I do mind admitting it if people see it as a sign of weakness)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.