Setting sun on a Walbourne

It has been a particularly quiet weekend for us both. Helena hurt her back yesterday morning just before she was due to go to London for 36 hours. Instead she has had to lie in bed mostly, avoiding the pain. I have still been coughing badly, despite the infection seeming to recede.

I cooked supper for us both this evening and after watching a bit of tv, I noticed the light from the setting sun shining through a window onto the wall and across this Walbourne painting which I like very much. I perhaps shouldn't keep it in that position, where the direct light might affect the oils, although it is rather dirty which might protect it. It is moments like this which I particularly like with the last red rays of light spreading over the surfaces and colours.

I think the picture maybe of a harbour in the Thames estuary about 1900, but possibly from the northern French coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.