cherish what remains

By clothgirl

trophies

I come from a family of athletes. Trophies, letter jackets, pins, badges, banners. They have them all. Not that these emblems of success were ever displayed or anything, no, that wasn't the done thing, but I knew I was different. Too tall too fast, uncoordinated, unwilling to compete, I'm not sure.

I always wanted a trophy even after I graduated from college. I thought about it every once in awhile, like something on your bucket list that you haven't done yet and seems hopeless now because how would a twenty something year old woman get a trophy? I just figured it would never happen, que sera, sera...

Every Friday night for, surprisingly, a few years, a group of my friends met at San Francisco's Japantown Bowl and played in the Oddballs league. It was called the Oddballs league because unlike most bowling leagues that were corporate, gender or handicap based, anyone who put together a team of five people could participate. I remember not really paying much attention to the awards ceremonies, I was not a very good bowler, streaky at best, and besides, other people win trophies, so I was talking, or drinking or smoking, maybe all three,

when they called my name.

Turns out streaky can translate into "high handicap game" in the bowling world.

Over the years I won a few more trophies, one fell off the bookcase during the Loma Preita earthquake. I've lost track of the others. I am most proud of that one on the right which is for "high scratch game".

These two showed up during the most recent move. I think I'm over the trophy thing, which is nice to know about oneself. I took this blip and promptly disposed of the darlings.

Que sera, sera...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.