Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Synchronize.

Went fishing today, on the Gloucester - Sharpness canal just across the fields from WWT Slimbridge. I'm afraid the fishing was a bit arse as the canal was flowing this way and that and I'd taken only very light pole rigs; not enough to hold against the flow. A switch to the 'feeder didn't up the success rate much.

Fortunately it was a beautiful day and that always ameliorates any crapness in the angling stakes. I made a new friend, discovered an SSSI and RAMSAR site I didn't know existed, listened to a stunningly mellifluous blackbird going full tilt, found a real-deal Swallows and Amazons house (with resident blue and gold Macaw, no less) and then just as I was crossing the bridge to the car, heard these two approaching. Cue the blip. I assume they're a cob and pen searching out a place to nest. I wish them all the very best.

A blizzard of excrement and stress awaits me at work this week but an afternoon like this one with the warmth of the sun on one's face, the (all to rare) sound of unrelenting birdsong in the ears, the smell of cut grass upon the nose and the eyes assaulted with beauty at every turn makes the shit bearable.

Today was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.