Camera-Phone Kitsch

By allenvh

Oh, San Antonio.

Today I made a truce with the city. The last time I went downtown, I forked over 200 clams to the fat cats at city hall. I'm all for progressive traffic fees (based on income)!

I went downtown to take a pre-employment drug test. Yes, I passed.

While I sat in the waiting room, a woman came in with 4 or 5 kids, all probably between the ages of 2 and 6, all very cute. My eyes got watery, because I started thinking about the things they'll go through, good and bad. Lots of blurry pictures of them in different situations came and quickly went through my mind: first days at school, bully run-ins, first times sleeping with someone, broken hearts. I had to look away, back at the television. I hope they take it all well, enjoying the good and learning from the bad, not making too many judgements about this world and its people, not getting jaded.

Waiting for the bus, I sat up against a building, eating my lunch. The weather was lovely, and I felt at peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.