Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Open Heart Surgery: Day 6

I so needed R&R with Callum as I've seen little of him in the last week. If you don't recharge, you're not much use. In the year total I've spent in hospital with Reuben, it's been one of the greatest lessons. We had a jacuzzi bath last night together. A huge surprise to him as I think I last used it the night before he was born. I don't find time for baths despite having 5 bathrooms (crazy I know but not my doing) in my modest house.

Here we are about to leave.

Things are very rough with Reuben though it's hard to envisage from yesterday's image. His lung is getting worse and it's almost completely murky on the X-ray with fluid. He will have to go back into the operating room tomorrow, probably on the vent and intubated, to see what's happening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.