Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Mountain bike track at Wainuiomata

In Wainuiomata near Wellington a wonderful group of volunteers have built and are still building a big maze of mountain bike tracks, from beginner, easy, intermediate to advanced.

The young ones are right into their biking and went off up the hill and disappeared.

I road bike, but I'm not fit enough to mountain bike, nor anywhere near daring enough, so I walk the trails. One I went down today i just couldn't imagine how anyone could even consider biking it - I was hanging onto trees and slipping and sliding and keeping on your feet was hard enough let alone at speed on two wheels.

This is a trail called Spoonhill, no idea why, but it comes down through the bush, and this bit was lovely easy walking after the "staircase".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.