beautifulcontradictions

By ColPepper

started early--took my dog

VW

I started early--Took my Dog--
And visited the Sea--
The Mermaids in the Basement
Came out to look at me--

And Frigates-- in the Upper Floor
Extended Hempen Hands--
Presuming Me to be a Mouse--
Aground--upon the Sands--

But no Man moved Me--till the Tide
Went past my simple Shoe--
And past my Apron--and my Belt
And past my Bodice-- too--

And made as He would eat me up--
As wholly as A Dew
Upon a Dandelions's Sleeve--
And then-- I started--too--

And He--He followed--close behind--
I felt His Silver Heel
Upon my Ankle--Then my Shoes
Would overflow with Pearl--

Until We met the Solid Town--
No One He seemed to know--
And bowing--with a Mighty look--
At me--The Sea withdrew--


Emily Dickinson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.