NellyO

By NellyO

Imp

Yesterday we went with the in-laws to Summerlee museum in Coatbridge, Summerlee is Scotland's museum of industrial heritage. I zoomed straight in on this old car - it is a Singer Chamois, but more relevantly for me, the Singer Chamois was designed as the 'upmarket' version of the Hillman Imp. Our first two family cars, in the early 70s, were Hillman Imps (the first one was orange with white stripes, I think calling them 'go faster' stripes is possibly pushing it a bit; the second one was lime green). This took me right back. I still remember that dad had brought the car back on a Saturday night after us kids were in bed, and then on the Sunday morning mum and dad said there was a surprise out the front, and how excited we were to see this orange car! I'm amazed we all managed to fit, as they're not exactly roomy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.