Found Photos

By foundfotos

Fall's Arrival

Actually, I think fall doesn't officially arrive until tomorrow -- but then again, it almost already *is* tomorrow.:)

I've gone past this hillside probably hundreds of times. And it always looks different (and almost always beautiful -- except in summer, when it's a pretty uniform green). But I have never seen so much color on it as I did today -- pretty spectacular. And by the way, most of that color is undergrowth, not trees.

And I had a revelation today. When I was in the Canadian Rockies last month, it kept feeling to me as if I was at 10,000 ft. But in another way, I knew I wasn't -- because I was much stronger than I normally am at that altitude. Today I hiked in the Sandias, near the crest (much higher than where I took this shot), which is at 10,000 ft. And I realized I could almost have been in the Canadian Rockies!!! A lot of the vegetation was the same, and it felt the same (cool and humid) -- and it even rained a bit, to remind me, I guess, of what I was missing.

I realized -- where I was in the Sandias (which are considered the southernmost part of the US Rockies) -- is in the same life zones as the Canadian Rockies -- "Mixed Conifer/Canadian" and "Spruce-Fir/Hudsonian." It's been pounded into my dull brain for years that the Sandias represent six life zones -- but I really understood it today for the first time. I think that, when I was in the Canadian Rockies, I was subconsciously aware that I had experienced those life zones before and knew that I'd been really high all the other times I'd been there.

Pretty amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.