It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Lovin Learning

I was really tired after yesterday's Tour of the Meldons. Over the last few seasons, I've only done events that don't suit my abilities! This classic season opener is no different as it's relatively hilly and i don't climb hills well. Additionally, as R n I don't drive, it was nearly a 2 hour ride to the start.

On the start line, someone distracted me by shouting "Kirky Big Man" meaning i wasn't ready to go on the go! Still, if I was properly focussed, it wouldn't have been a problem. Almost immediately I felt wrong....my breathing was shallow and my legs felt heavy. By the first hill my lungs seemed to have filled up with gunk and I was struggling to breath. I suspect that the really cold air had caused a mild exercise induced asthma attack. I was ok(ish) on the flat but decided to pack when I started the climb over the Meldons. Yeah...my body wasn't functioning but mentally I was worse.

Rosemary did well, beating her target time using her tribars for the first time in a race. Chapeau!! I was a wee bit grumpy as we had agreed to stay for the prize giving, despite me having a train to catch. On the way home, I punctured wasting 10 minutes. Rather than getting angry, I focussed on riding as hard as I could despite feeling shite. It worked. Home just in time to get a quick shower and up to catch the train back to Manchester! Only 5 hours in the saddle followed by a 4.5 hour journey.

Today was my 1st day back at work after over a week off! It was ok and I'm excited that it was confirmed that I'll be at the Road Cycling Show in Sandown next weekend! Mario Cipollini will be there! After my excitement, Charlie confirmed he still had his Cipollini Briko sunglasses from the early 1990's....legendary ones! They are selling for £165!!!

I went to the camera club in Stalybridge this evening after being invited by the local postmaster Ian! The blip is one of my shots from the evening. I was really impressed with Ian's photography knowledge and learnt loads from him. The club itself was full of characters....mostly local. I realised that I rarely mixed with anyone from the area and felt a bit guilty. It had a working man's club feel to it too.

I felt even stranger being in a Conservative Club as I am a member of the Green Party, read the Guardian and find it very difficult not to want to burn Daily Mail readers at the stake! My Buddhist leanings are very useful in such circumstances. The irony was that most people at the bar in the club wouldn't have looked out of place at an Arthur Scargill Appreciation Society meeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.