One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

The 100 meter Woolmark pinstripe dash

A business suit was never really designed for sprinting.

And those silk ties flapping about the face, they were no really created to improve the performance of the athlete.

For the "Dart Dash" is one of the first skills that you learn to master as a Dublinium Commuterim Cretinus.
Rather than perfecting your timetable speedreading, you are much better off working on your calf muscles, they will be a lot more useful.

I remember running after an underground train in Vienna a few years ago and people looking at me as if I were a cosmic dropping from another planet.
I was pondering the look of puzzlement on their faces as I was struggling to catch my breath. And then it came to me: in Vienna, you know that there is another train coming in exactly 3 minutes (because such is the frequency, as carved in the stone timetables: trains at 9.02 / 9.05 / 9.08 / 9.11 / 9.14 etc.)

In Dublin, when you see a Dart reaching the platform, you run for dear life because one can never tell when the next one is coming.

The saying goes: one Dart in the station is worth twelve in the depot (where the Dart train drivers have great laughs, playing cards and drinking out of gigantic flasks of tea...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.