Mr John

By MrJohn

Matching outfits .....

..... at Leeds Market.

This afternoon I decided to put another tick against my ' to-do ' list and visited the Thakray medical museum in Leeds. Despite being fairly squeemish, I've always had an unhealthy interest in all things medical.

The Museum is next to St James' Hospital, and after an hour of wandering around the Museum I feel my time may have been spent more wisely visiting the hospital.

The only exhibit that really caught my eye was a recreation of the changes in social attitudes to birth over the last 100 years. The first showed a victorian woman, with an untrained ( but experienced ) midwife. Her husband was not allowed to attend the birth. The second recreation with 'lifelike' ( using that term very loosely ) dummies, showed a real couple called Julie and Darrell in a modern delivery room. A photo of the real Julie and Darrell was on the wall of the exhibit looking down at their wonky wigged dopplegangers.

After the Museum , I had a walk around the cemetry opposite. Becket street cemetary was the first municipal cemetary in Britain and is full of grand stone monuments to people long since gone. The one exception was a small wooden cross under a tree.

I then walked back in to town and had a look around Leeds market which was as usual full of interesting characters. I took a few snaps in and around the market, including one of an older couple wearing Matching tracksuits. Then headed back home.

I almost blipped the little wooden cross under the tree, in the cemetary. But as trees have had a starring or supporting role in my last four blips, todays blip is.....


..... Matching outfits, at Leeds Market

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.