Ecclescake

By ecclescake

Accrington old and new

I've been inspired for todays blip by the lovely and creative Cath in the Attic. She's been blipping local places using old photos, and I love the effect, so I did some googling to find an old image of my town.

I printed off a couple of different angles, and walked into town to find the same angle - which was harder than I'd imagined! Then I held the printed image with one hand, and took a photo of half the old, and half the new, with the other.

This original shot of Blackburn Road in the centre of Accrington was taken in 1899 so is over 110 years old! Rain and a gloomy sky, and trying to do it all myself meant I didn't quite get what I wanted - but it was fun trying and I'm going to look for more vintage photos to try it with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.