seen by highonahill

By highonahill

Come hear the music play...

I got back from work today to a pile of old LPs on my doorstep. I had just missed my father-in-law calling round to deposit findings from his loft and garage clear-out in preparation for a house move.

It made me chuckle looking through these gems from days gone by: some fairly obvious artists - Cliff Richard, Val Doonican, The Spinners; an equivalent to today's 'Now That's What I Call Music' in '20 Everlasting Memories of the 50s' and the delightfully sounding 'Alan Randall sings Great Comedy War Songs'.

But the ones that really caught my eye?

'Reflections: Manuel & the Music of the Mountains' - mainly due to the massive photo of the Matterhorn on the album sleeve; I cannot vouch for being 'an afficionado of Manuel's' as it says on the cover blurb.

The Original London Cast Recording of 'Cabaret' with Judi Dench - a no-brainer seeing as I am a massive fan of musicals.

And of course, 'Showaddywaddy's Greatest Hits' - being a child of the 70s, I grew up with 'Under the Moon of Love' and 'Hey, Rock and Roll'.

Now I just need a turntable... no, wait, confession time - I already have 'Showaddywaddy's Greatest Hits' on CD...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.