The carnival is over

Today, assembled family members started dispersing after the holiday so for me it's goodbye men, goodbye meat (I rarely eat it on my own).

The Seekers' much-loved song was sung by Judith Durham here in 1967 and here in 2009 - and she's hardly changed in 40 years!

I've always been fond of the tune because it's the old Russian folksong Stenka Rasin about a Cossack leader of that name who consigns his bride to the Volga river when taunted that he has lost his mettle after falling in love.

And if anyone's in London and likes Chekhov, I've just seen a brilliant production of Uncle Vanya at The Print Room. The run is sold but you might be able to get returns - you won't regret it.

Thanks to everyone who puts the chicken fart in the spotlight. I am very sorry that I don't have time for comments today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.