atoll

By atoll

Singing Ringing Tree

Bad news is my meeting in Blackburn was cancelled meaning I could have lingered a while longer in bed (had already set off when I found out). On the ++ plus side though, I spent last night at my mums and got a lovely bacon sandwich for breakfast that you don't get at home mid week.

Another plus was I took a detour going home to photograph an old friend in the East Pennine mist. This is the Burnley Panopticons called Singing Ringing Tree (named after that mad and scary 1970s childrens series made in East Germany that any oldies out there might remember). The public art work was curated by Mid Pennines Arts and created by architects Tonkin Liu.

This Panopticon, sitting as it does on a bleak hilltop overlooking Burnley, is famous for it's eerie soundscape in even light winds, and so I thought I would also try to record via Audioboo #1 and #2. Not brilliant I know, but it is difficult without proper gear and a furry mike (where is Furry Mike when you need him?)

Absolutely freezing in the wind. Fingers so numb now. Back to office and proper work!

Postscript: For all you nostalgia buffs out there, have since found this Youtube link to the wonderfully eccentric Singing Ringing Tree or Das Singende, Klingende Bäumchen to give it it's full title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.