send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

A dying sun

Thickening fog at the end of the day seemed to sap the strength right out of the sun this evening. I liked the muted quality of the colours that this produced, and decided that the photograph was best left to a plain, uncluttered composition. Incidentally, this is the sort of shot which sold me on my current camera: it was the first time that I'd seen a digital file cope with the high dynamic range of such a scene, without banding around the sun.

Compare this to yesterday's photo. Both were taken at the same focal length, but at opposite ends of the focus ring. Today's remain's crisp and without fringing, showing that setting the lens to the minimum focus marker will have the most detrimental effect on the optical quality.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 270mm; ISO 200; F/7.1; 1/160s. VC on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.