send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

In-flight

This was the only shot I took today, although we've been travelling since eleven o'clock. We couldn't believe it when we crossed the snow-covered Pennines this morning, after last week's temperatures reaching the mid-twenties (mid-seventies for those of you who use the Fahrenheit scale). This glow was probably somewhere over France, but I can't be sure as I didn't get the window seat on this trip.

Since it's relevant to the main advantage of the Tamron 18-270 PZD, here's the run down of everything that fit into my hand luggage:

Nikon D300 with grip and Tamron 18-270 PZD attached.

Remote control.

Spare nikon battery and 4 AA rechargeables.

SB-800 flashgun.

Gorillapod Focus and Ballhead X.

Close up dipotre, polariser and stepping ring.

Three extension rings.

LEE filter holder and three filters.

Cleaning kit.

Sunglasses.

Stack of memory cards.

So, in there we have macro capabilities, a long lens, a wide angle, and a mid range telephoto. And the whole lot fit into a bag which was half the size I was allowed to carry, and weighed the grand total of five and a half kilos. And I know I don't need fast glass on this trip, because it's Cyprus, and very bright. Before I got the Tamron I'd have had to take a macro lens, and separate short range and long telephoto lenses. Any one of which weighs more than the Tamron. I'd also have had to take my bigger bag, which weighs three and a half kilos empty, almost three kilos more than the one I used. So by using the Tamron, I saved myself about five kilos altogether.

My carry-on allowance for this flight was ten kilos. Even if it had been the more typical six kilos, I'd have been fine. Without the tamron, I'd have had to leave some of my accessories at home, or at least try to find room for it in my case. And experience has taught me that you don't put anything valuable or breakable (like a lens) in the hands of the "Throwers" at baggage handling.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 35mm; ISO 250; F/5.6; 1/20s. VC on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.