Postcards from a grey man

By 8LAD35

April Challenge #18: Hair

A poem I remember from school
The Hairy Toe - American Traditional

Once there was a woman went out to pick beans,
and she found - a hairy toe!
She took the hairy toe home with her,
and that night,
when she went to bed,
the wind began to moan and groan:
away off in the distance she seemed to hear
a voice crying -
"Who's got my hairy toe?
Who's got my hairy toe"

The woman scrooched down,
way down under the covers,
and about that time
the wind appeared to hit the house Sw-oo-sh!
And the old house creaked and cracked
Like something was trying to get in.
The voice had come nearer,
almost at the door now,
and it said
"Where's my hairy toe?
Who's got my hairy toe?"

The woman scrooched further down under
the covers
and pulled them tight around her head.
The wind growled around the house like some
big animal
and r-rumbled down the chimney.

All at once she heard the door cr-r-eak,
cr-r-eak at every step
the Thing took towards her bed.
The woman could almost feel it bending over
her bed.
Then, in an awful voice, it said -
"Where's my hairy toe?
Who's got my hairy toe?

YOU'VE GOT IT!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.