All These Things...

By Joestockdale

Mr Halfpenny

Another day of college, another day inside not up for going out in the world and getting soaked. I'll be much comfortable braving the rain when I have something to stop my front lens element and filters from getting droplets on. I know not my usual style of photography, but it's best to leave your comfort zone, even if your comfort zone involves climbing fells and trekking through the Cumbrian wilderness.

I took this portrait in class today when we were working on the Macs and updating our blogs. I decided to have a good play with black and white portraiture on Photoshop when I got home, I produced a few other images, but this one was my favorite. Rob is a fellow student and is off to do games art in Bolton next September. Here is some of Robs work, well the ones I like the most.

For this shot I used my Nikon 40mm Micro. I love the effects you can achieve with a big aperture, notice the patches that are slightly out of focus on the facial hair and forehead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.