Extreme pushing

We woke up and it was raining, but we set off determined to reach the top of Jura's one road. Foolish? Quite possibly. It rained incessantly, for 36 hours. We followed the road until we ran out of tarmac, passing noisy pigs, swallows resting on telegraph wires, and swans by the shore. All the while buzzards circled above us. We ducked into an old boat shed so I could change my sodden footwear to my walking boots. I didn't fancy cycling in them, but I didn't want to squelch my way for the remaining 7 miles.

On the map, it suggests that there's a track leading to the top of Jura. We thought we could cycle it. HaHaHaHaHaHaHa!!!! Oh the benefit of hindsight. We pushed our bicycles the full 7 miles, and it was extreme pushing, through mud, puddles, cow pats... After 6 miles we passed the house where Eric Blair (aka George Orwell) wrote '1984'. We reckon the 'road' must have been tarmac then for him to drive his motorbike to the house.

Near our destination, I spotted a buoy bobbing up and down in the harbour. On closer inspection, we discovered it was a grey seal thoroughly enjoying the rain. He was a lovely sight!

At the end of the Jura road, there's a farmhouse with a bunkhouse where folk can stay. The lady said it was cold and damp, but we took it anyway. We spent a warm night there, but we were woken up by owls, a mouse trying to eat our food, a bellowing stag and a goose. A great adventure! I don't think I've ever been so drenched!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.