Adam's Images

By ajt

Richard Trevithick

It rained today. This is very good for the garden, the orchards, the fields and the local aquifers but it's not so good for me when I'm under it. It didn't rain much on my way to the station but it was enough to soak my trousers. From the station to work at the other end I had my over trousers on and though it was both windy and rainy I was well protected.

There Is No Such Thing As Bad Weather, Only Inappropriate Clothing. -- Sir Ranulph Twisleton-Wykeham-Fiennes.

It was raining on my way home, so I didn't take any interesting pictures, preferring to get to my train on time and dry. Yesterday's cherry tree still has blossom so I'm hoping I'll be able to get another blip of it before it all falls off.

When I got home it was Plan B blip time. I've had this £2 coin in my pocket for a few days waiting to blip it, so it day was it's turn. I like engines and machines as as this has a version of the circa 1803 Coalbrookdale steam locomotive on it, it's a good candidate. Contrary to popular believe Stevenson did not invent the steam locomotive engine any more than Watt invented the steam engine. Richard Trevithick built early steam powered locomotive engines for the mining industry. The one on the £2 coin is based on the drawing of the Coalbrookdale engine - though the image on the coin is missing the enormous flywheel on the the drawing held at the Science Museum.

I'm afraid the coin has seen better days and is rather worn and a direct photo hasn't produced the best results. I've cropped it and increased the contrast a fraction to make the lettering a bit more clear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.