Photoliff

By Photoliff

Yellow landscape

You can tell when it's spring as the landscape goes a lovely yellow colour with the rapeseed flowering. It's one of my favourite colours on the land.

I took this shot on both my digital and film cameras. I am interested in comparing the difference between the two images - which one will look better, I wonder. I took the film shot on Kodak Slide film. As I took the shots I noticed two differences. Firstly, with the digital I just fired off a load of frames and thought "One of those will be OK, if not I will correct it in Lightroom". With the film camera (and old Nikon FM2n I have had for over 20 years), I noticed that I was much more careful as I knew that each frame was going to cost me money. I made sure that I only took one frame and that it summed up the scene as best as possible. Secondly, hearing the clack of the mirror and winding the film on was just really enjoyable. That's not even taking into account how much better the old camera's viewfinder size is!

I love digital as it is just so easy and convenient - a daily blip would be very hard without this medium, but I really have noticed that film does make me think more - especially at £12 for 36 frames!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.