horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Indulgence

Turned my thoughts back to restoring the 30s Sunbeam that has been in my possession for the exchange of a paltry 30 quid for far too long without it moving. The Mercian respray might be lovely, but after a miscommunication between the bike shop that sent it and Mercian, it left me bereft of the old headset and bottom bracket which, while likely no long much use actually on the bike, would have helped sourcing replacement parts - they were supposed to be removed and retained, but only one part of the instruction was followed.

So anyway, I think I've sussed out a headset bodge tonight. The bottom bracket is a touch more problematic. The thing is, nothing was really that standard in the 30s, so the parts are like hen's teeth. But I'm gonna go out and measure up the axle thickness (rather than width, all the old axles I have are too fat) with my electronic caliper thingies and then see what I can find.

I've decided as well, for the moment, to singlespeed it, and save a refurb of the Dynamo 4 speed Sturmey Archer hub for a time when the mere thought doesn't terrify me. Sorted out the OLN so sourcing that looks easy enough. The 'guards need a little subtle cutting to fit properly, but will look great. And a new stem and bars will be shiny and luvverly. Remarkably the brakes are in perfect working order.

Could it be ready for the Pedal on Parliament ride on the 28th? There's an outside chance...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.