Auguries

By McCaviti

Pleay Do't Tant My Sun Shien Away

A sodden autumn day, but the freshly dropped leaves glowed golden as children and grandparents made an early start on their epic journey.

Latest update, as I blip - they've arrived safely at Lake's Entrance (the halfway point), with no major incidents, apart from some half-expected travel sickness from the little reader. But nothing serious enough to put a girl off devouring a punnet of raspberries it seems.

Normally, at this stage of one of their holidays with their grandparents, I am overcome with maudlin despair, an empty void filled only by imaginings of car wrecks or other tragedies. After a day or two, I adjust to life without children and find a multitude of ways to celebrate my freedom :)

But, this time, be it a newly found maturity (haha), blipmania, or the hopeless task of trying to set up Mike's mobile broadband before our weekend away, all is calm.

So, let me take the time to thank Sue and John for all their kind assistance with the children in the holidays, and the wonderful travel experiences they have provided them.

The poem is Im's rendition of "You are my sunshine", a real treasure. They both are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.