Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Platform 1, Perth: Paul

I had a meeting in Perth today. It finished early so I made it in good time to the station to catch the train back to Edinburgh at 14:00. It would have helped if I had waited on the right platform for the train! So, instead of taking the direct train at 14:00, I ended up on platform 1 for an extra 20 minutes from where I took a different train to Stirling, and then a connecting service on to Edinburgh.

I was about to tweet my stupidity when I was interrupted by this fine fellow. Over two decades ago I was the one who taught him how to send e-mail, use an operating system, create a document in a word processing program, and format a spreadsheet. He also reminded me this afternoon that 17 years ago I drove him to distraction with the comments that I scribbled in red ink all over his draft Honours project.

It's always wonderful to come across graduates in unexpected places. I'm so glad that I missed my train after all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.