A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Red

Every morning, after I wake up, and look at the newspaper from the comfort of my bed (on my phone, too lazy to get the computer). These days, with the student strike still going strong, it's getting more and more depressing: the government has decided to use intimidation and violence against the students instead of actually sitting down with them, there's a war of words that falls far from the real issue, and no one moves.

You know, May 1968, in France? Well, this is a bit like that. And there is no end in sight. I've done my part, left messages for ministers, created the webpage of "i'm in debt and it's enough" that got to almost 600 members and was sent to MPs and journalists, and I wait to see what will happen. But as time passes, I get more worried every day and this red, the color the students chose to represent themselves (red as in debt, of course) is tinting everything. Will it end? How? Students, professors have been arrested, and violence is escalating. So I'm worried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.