The view from here

By cathintheattic

Presented by the Tradesmen of Blackburn.......

This is the West Park Gates to Corporation Park in Blackburn, close to where we live. The inset photo is from World War 1 and the ambulance livery reads 'Presented by the Tradesmen of Blackburn for service with the British Army in the field'.

I found this image and experience particularly moving, I think because it features a person whose fate I don't know, because the first world war was such a significant and terrible part of history (and we have photographs of it) and because I associate the park with play and fun, not death and war.

It took me ages to do this standing outside the park gates and I was very surprised not to get stopped by either the community police officer who passed, or the parky who watched me for a long time. I also had to do a bit of adjusting/cropping etc when I got home, which I would rather not have to do. I think I was just very lucky that first day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.