Stephanie's Shots

By stephanie

Roma - The Pope

Another day in Rome. I wanted to try and make sure I had seen everything by Bernini in Rome, so I started the day by going to the Triton fountain and the Bees fountain at Pza Barberini. Then I continued via the Trevi fountain (not Bernini, still great), passed the Pantheon, to Pza Navona to re-admire the fountains there. Next up; the statues at the colonnade at St. Peter's.

After looking at them, and attending the bathroom, I noticed a lot of people were gathering in the square so I sticked around. At ten minutes to noon, a little window opened in the building to the right of the St. Peter's, and at noon, the pope appeared. He gave a little talk, and was cheered at by many, and after about 15 minutes he disappeared again. It was funny to see how enthusiastic some people were - a group of Spanish speaking nuns were frantically chanting "viva il Papa" :)

Then I wanted to see the Cappella Cornaro, in the Santa Maria della Vittoria, so I walked back to it, but sadly it was closed. I did manage to visit the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore, and saw Bernini's grave there, and a little sword that was supposedly his.
Then I continued onwards toward Termini train station, grabbed some lunch, and then went back home. An exhausting, but great weekend.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gimp:
none

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.