Turning Point

By MamaFi

I'm leavin' on a jet plane...woof!

A couple of days ago, Jaco from Animal Travel Services (who last week transported a lion and 15 baboons!) came to the house to introduce himself and deliver the crate that Bow Wow is to travel in on his long journey to Scotland. He suggested ways to prepare for the flight, including administering Rescue Remedy, personalising the crate, and encouraging the dog to familiarise himself with it.

Effort has been required to get Bow Wow to take the Rescue Remedy - some bread, two pairs of hands and lots of determination! I carpeted the bottom of the crate with his sandy beach towel and threw in my well worn pyjama top as a 'security blanket'. The crate has rarely been empty since, so this has certainly worked.

We took Bow Wow for a final walk at his favourite place, Groot Constantia where I took this shot. Lucie and Lachlan used to run with him there, he enjoys swimming in the reservoir, and bumping into baboons, although we didn't see any today. There was a heavy scent of honey in the air and Hamish commented that it would be wonderful to capture this.

Liz, who is very fond of Bow Wow came over to say goodbye. Neither of us mentioned the likelihood of it being for the last time, but one never knows. When Jaco appeared with the van, it was carrying a cat, and another Africanis dog called Jamieson who were to board the same flight. It was a relief that Bow Wow was happy to meet his travelling companions and readily jump into his crate before being waved off.

Feeling a little flat, Hamish and I decided to drive to The Cape of Good Hope. Hamish has been wanting to collect some shells (illegal, I know) from Buffels Bay to give to his girlfriend J. He was keen to find a perlemoen shell. I spotted the first, but thankfully he managed to find one too. This was the last shot I took before my camera battery died and I discovered the spare hadn't been charged.....While we were making our way back, 9 gemsbok walked right in front of us, and we found an ostrich standing next to the car. I missed my blip!!!

We later met Russ at Royale and were amused to think of Bow Wow relaxing in the 'Pet Lounge' before his flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.